WOOCS 2.1.6

Reviews

Odyssey Traveller Small group Tour Reviews

At Odyssey we enjoy creating and leading  small group tours since 1983. Odyssey Traveller Tour Reviews are important source of feedback from our customers to allow us to balance out the good with the not so good on the tours offered.This is a small niche not for profit company who applies it’s surpluses to creating Scholarships for University students of $10,000 each year.

Read on to get an insight into what our customers think when they travel with us. Sharing their views on our range of Senior small group educational tours for the over 50s. These tour reviews cover Britain, France, Italy and places elsewhere across Europe, the Middle East and Asia.

 

The geographical wonders offered by Iceland and Greenland left me in awe. The grandeur and spectacle of the countryside is breathtaking. Our leader (Rob) was excellent: well-researched, friendly, organized and good-humoured.
Participant 2017
It is hard to believe that such a small country can contain so much dramatic scenery. Icecaps and glaciers, huge waterfalls, volcanos and hot bubbling mud, and those wonderful fjords and high mountain passes
Participant 2016
Our guide was a great ambassador for his country, wide knowledge of literature, history, customs, industry, fishing - also a perceptive and sensitive person who inter-acted so willingly with all of us!
Participant 2016
Every day was different with so much to see and do. Volcanoes, craters (including the pseudo ones), bubbling mud pools, and the active Strokkur Geyser, the bird life, black sand beaches, and those beautiful Icelandic horses. The time flew by...
Participant 2016
I loved this trip as it was so very different from anywhere else I've been. The scenery was breath-taking and I never imagined I'd be taken on a cruise around a lagoon filled with icebergs, or see so many magnificent waterfalls that I lost count.
Participant 2016
Brilliant trip with an excellent guide and driver. Even converted my sports -orientated husband into appreciating cathedrals and architecture! Love the 'all-inclusive' aspect, not having to bother with meals, tipping, etc. Made it a real holiday for me.
Participant Sep 2014
This tour was such a good mix of the different areas of France, good food, good wine, good company and amazing sights.
Participant Sep 2014
Travelling in a small group was great. The tour gave you a good taste of France's history and its wine regions.
Participant Sep 2014
La Belle France is a delightful tour through some of the most beautiful regions of France. Rouna ensured that everything ran smoothly and that we saw so much.
Participant Sep 2015
A tour beyond expectation. Egypt has so much to offer from the past and Odyssey did a fantastic job.
Participant 2018
This was a fascinating program and the support was outstanding
Participant 2018
Both cruise ships exceeded our expectations for cleanliness and quality of service.
Participant 2018
Our Egyptologist, Mohammed, was excellent. Not only was he a very experienced tour guide and very knowledgeable, he was very organised and friendly and we always felt secure with him. He contributed greatly to our enjoyment of the trip.
Participant 2018
Mal was a wonderful Program leader. She would be the best tour leader we have ever experienced. Her obvious experience and her calm demeanor contributed greatly to the cohesiveness of our group which, in turn, contributed to our enjoyment.
Participant 2018
This tour was excellent, encompassing not only historical Egypt but also introducing us to modern Egypt. The varied travel by bus, small cruise ship and air, contributed to our interest and enjoyment. The extremely high quality of our tour leader, the Egyptologist and the local guide enhanced our knowledge, understanding and enjoyment of this tour.
Participant 2018
I did this tour last year and can thoroughly recommend it. The security was very tight, both during the travel and in the hotels. The Egyptologist we had with us was an expert on the history and culture of the country. We travelled widely and saw so much of the treasures and wonders that are exclusive to Egypt.
Carol Fraser
We did this tour in 2011. Wonderful, extraordinary experience. Loved every minute.
Rex and Maree
I loved the rural France trip. It exceeded my expectations for sure. I saw so much and learnt many new things about French history and culture. Every guide we had was knowledgeable, friendly and each brought their own personality to the role. I am sure that I will reflect on this trip as a particular highlight in my travel agenda. Congratulations to Rouna for making a difficult job seem easy!
Participant May 2014
Apart from meeting nice people, being well looked after and seeing wonderful places, one of the best aspects of Odyssey Tours is that we stay in one place for several days and do not have to pack and unpack very often.
Participant May 2014
These tours give the client a real learning experience, instead of going from market to market as some travel organizations do. Also, staying at least 3 nights or more in the one location one gets a feel for the area, and the memory of it is not ever forgotten.
Participant Sep 2014
Our driver and guide was exceptional; full of information about places we visited. Resourceful when we had extra time, in organising 'wee adventures'. Diverted several times to accommodate the special interests of group members.
Participant 2015
We were more than satisfied with the whole trip. Enjoyed every bit of it. If you could improve the weather it'd be nice, but even the cold, rain and wind couldn't spoil the trip.
Participant 2015
I really enjoyed this tour. I found all of our drivers/guides were friendly, organised, professional and knowledgeable. I would recommend this tour to others.
Participant 2015
“We had previously toured mainland Scotland so the attraction of this tour was the novelty of touring all the islands and the ferry connections. However it was the totally unexpected archaeology that will remain in our memories. Along with the driver and her stories!!! Truly a "Discovery Tour".
Participant Sep -15
The trip to the Tang valley and the Ogyencholing museum were a highlight. Beautiful scenery, wonderful people and one of the best museums I've seen. That night and all next day it snowed - what a buzz. Made everything look magical and improved the scenery for the next few days
Participant March 2017
Loved: National Institute of traditional medicine hike to Wanyditse Goemba Punakha festival – definitely a highlight Hanging the prayer flags at the pass! The outdoor picnics! Archery competition! Dumtse Lhakhang – went to heaven!!! Dzong Drak Kha (mini tigers nest) amazing views and climb Sanga Choekor Shedra (Bhuddist College) Drakpa and his team (Nima and Karma) were just amazing. Drakpa was very knowledgeable, friendly, caring and cheerful. He went out of his way to provide us with information and experiences to help our understanding of the culture and religion, he was funny and entertaining and very professional under pressure.Nima was a very competent driver, and I have never felt in safer hands in the difficult driving conditions we were in.
Participant March 2017
I wish to sincerely thank Len for his amazing care, good cheer and flexibility ! Len has that great combination of simultaneous organisation and flexibility, which is so very necessary on a small trip such as this. In his stride, he was able to re-design the program at short notice due to weather conditions (working closely with Drakpa) and the end result was better than the original plan in my opinion!!! It was clear from day one, that Len cared and payed attention to each and every one of us at every step of the way – going out of his way to assist those who needed it. The trust and camaraderie we developed with Len made the trip that much more special! I miss our laughs.
Participant March 2017
The local guide, Drukpa, was exceptional value. When I was ill for a couple of days his care for me, assisted by Len, was way beyond my expectation.
Participant March 2017
It was a first-rate program and fully met expectations
Participant 2018
Mal Bock was an Excellent Program leader & made it a very Pleasurable Experience. I would certainly like to attend further things led by her.
Participant 2018
Mal's knowledge of her subject was outstanding and notes a great help.
Participant 2018
Very knowledgeable with a good sense of humour. Well prepared.
Participant 2018
Great course. Left me wanting to explore more. Plenty of variety in presentation methods. Continually engaging.
Participant 2018
I had high expectations of all aspects of the school and they were met.
Participant 2018
We were privileged to go where many tourists could not go but some of that was due to the presence of John Pickrell still we saw more and met more senior paleontologists that I had expected. All museums and other sites were a marvelous experience
Participant 2017
All guides were excellent. Each had done a lot of research on dinosaurs before we arrived and had a good sense of what we were after.
Participant 2017
Accommodation exceeded expectations in most cases.
Participant 2017
Well balanced with city vs country, visits to remote dinosaur sites, town museums, a winery. The hands-on dinosaur dig and fossil preparation live-in at Lake Barraleas was superb and I could have spent more time there as we went out a lot. It was excellent with a great Argentinian team looking after us..
Participant 2017
Well balanced, with a great group leader in John Pickrell. He was extremely informative and had great contacts so we saw behind the scenes at museums.We covered a lot of distance but with 2-3 nights in a number of places had plenty of free time to do your own thing.
Participant 2017
I thoroughly enjoyed the whole program!
Participant 2018
Nick had interesting comments and views on his field of expertise. Made me think about some of the things I took for granted.
Participant 2018
Nick Mooney is an excellent leader. His knowledge in so many areas is extensive. It became obvious when meeting other local people that he is regarded very highly. As with Trevor, our driver, nothing was too much trouble for him when trying to make our trip memorable. 10 out of 10.
Participant 2018
The leader had a great deal of knowledge and good sense of humour also.
Participant 2018
I would like to do it again!
Participant 2018
Enjoyed the local knowledge from Pavel and especially loved his garden.
Participant 2018
Was nice and leisurely
Participant 2018
It all worked out very well - as usual!
Participant 2018
Morning teas and lunches were superb.
Participant 2018
I thoroughly enjoyed the whole program
Participant 2018
Very knowledgeable with a good sense of humour. Well prepared.
Participant 2018
It was my first time with Odyssey & I enjoyed it very much
Participant 2018
Our leader, David Daintree, did a fantastic job. He was able to impart his knowledge and keep an easy-going vibe to the course. Most enjoyable. The two guest speakers were great. As I was reading Alison Alexander's book I was especially pleased to meet her and hear her talk on convicts in Tasmania.
Participant 2018
Very knowledgeable coach drivers, courteous and friendly (as were they all) but Stuart bent over backwards to show us various landmarks around Hobart on our last day.
Participant 2018
David is extremely knowledgeable, courteous and friendly. He wasn't rigid with the itinerary (times) as he wanted all the participants to enjoy and see what interested them the most. He did an excellent job.
Participant 2018
Very enjoyable
Participant 2018
Lucas Thompson exceeded expectations in all areas
Participant 2018
Well done!
Participant 2018
Wife Brenda and I just completed Odyssey tour in UK entitled “Canals and Railways” led by Mal Bock. Absolutely superb, and Mal’s leadership faultless. Extremely good value considering only seven guests, superb local guides and drivers, a most comfortable coach with seating for 24. . Hotels chosen were excellent, most with real character, not places one would have chosen without local knowledge and recommendation, . My wife and I have visited the UK many times- I was born there, but we saw so many places which were new to us. Thank you Odyssey!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Ian Sanderson
Your chat-operator was informative and helpful. We have covered quite a few countries and seasons to travel. Full marks for that!
Philip Lee
The tour was fantastic and well organised and well managed. · I have travelled expensively but have not with a travel organisation that comes anywhere near Odyssey's attention to detail and the comfort of its travellers. · The tour was fantastic and well organised and well managed. The transport provided was always very good and where the seats were a little narrow, the bus was big enough for us to 'spread out' for more comfort. · Our accommodation was excellent as was our local guide.I would highly recommend a trip to this beautiful country with many treasures to explore and learn about. Discover Myanmar Nov ‘15
info@odysseytravel.com.au
Excellent itinerary, transport and local guides!
Participant 2016
The local guide was outstanding. She had excellent knowledge, helped us shop and went beyond reasonable to give us an authentic experience of Iran.
Participant -17
One of my most pleasurable holidays, and one I must repeat, as it was not long enough. We were most fortunate in having our marvellous tour leader.
B F
• It was a marvellous tour. I was privileged, as we all were, to see so many things of beauty, and so much history, in your very capable hands. Thank you for passing on some of your knowledge, and for your ready assistance. Thank you also for the photos and the list of guides; I'd been trying to remember the name of that rather good, but unusual fellow we met in Siena. No doubt because of his enthusiasm - and eccentricity - I remember Siena so well. (BH - Heritage Italy)
Participant May -15
• Thank you so much for being a wonderful leader for the Heritage Italy tour. It was so interesting and has left me with lots of things to think about and follow up in my reading. I found I had an old book giving the history of Greek science, i.e. the thinking of the Greeks in the early BC time. An interesting addition to our visit to Paestum and Cumae. The whole experience was marvellous and I have to thank you again for your kindness and consideration and the generous amount of time you gave to us all. I really appreciated that. (MB - Heritage Italy)
Participant May -15
Apart from just touching base and saying hi, I wanted to thank you for such a wonderful trip. Fourth time in Italy for me but the chance to get a little off the beaten track was really special... not to mention I got so much more insight into Italy than I had before. (KG Heritage Italy)
Participant Sep -15
Overall the trip was great and met my expectation.
Errol H. June 2017
We found all the guides in each place excellent, some more than others, but always knowledgeable and obviously in love with their chosen careers. David our coach driver was excellent also, coping with some difficult situations with a cool head and providing us with a running commentary on a country he knows so well - especially Norfolk his home county!
Sally and Angus H. June 2017
This trip could have been planned for me as all my interests were included - ballet, theatre, concerts, opera and visits to magnificent museums and galleries.
Participant -17
Robert was an excellent leader who made things run smoothly. He had great knowledge about all aspects of the content of this expedition. He interacted with all members of the group. I would be very happy to go on another tour with Robert as leader.
Participant -17
The tour was compact, well planned and intense of course, having to include so much in a short space of time, compared with what we would do and see normally at home. A bit overwhelming, but wonderful for looking back, and a challenge to see how much one can remember.
Participant -17
Robert's knowledge and expertise was greatly appreciated especially as I was the least culturally aware of the group. I enjoyed every minute of the tour, and his cheerfulness even in times of trial ( the weather) and the usual small things that go wrong were met with enthusiasm and help.
Participant -17
Great hotel (perfect location), wonderful tour guide (Robert was excellent in every respect), the half-day walking tour was fun and informative, and the events selected exposed me to Fringe events I probably wouldn't have seen otherwise. Very well thought out and put together.
Participant -17
Lovely hotel and the location could not have been better. I'd stay there again.
Participant -17
Please evaluate your tour Program Leader, Robert Williams Communication - Exceeded expectations Organisation - Exceeded expectations Local knowledge - Exceeded expectations Engagement - Exceeded expectations Friendliness - Exceeded expectations Care and concern for your needs - Exceeded expectations Do you have any comments to make (good or bad!) about your tour Program Leader? - I cannot compliment him too highly
Participant -17
Excellent selection and diversity from different types of events. We saw wonderful things that would not have occurred to me on my own.
Participant -17
Dear Robert, Thanks for your guidance and leadership on our Bach Odyssey. You really were fabulous. See you in Berlin.
Participant June -16
Dear Robert, Thank you so much for a very happy and informative journey. You made it all the more enjoyable by your sensitive consideration of all our separate needs and interests. Enjoy the rest of your trip.
Participant June -16
We felt safe in Turkey and found the people friendly and helpful. Prices were excellent and the food almost universally magnificent. There is so much to see in the natural and built environment and the wonderful archaeological sites. It is sad to see the ordinary people and businesses suffering from the lack of tourists.
Participant 2017
The country was apparently calm and safe. People were friendly and helpful. Such a pity there has been such a down turn in tourism.
Participant 2017
Our guide Filiz was wonderful, very well informed, historical insights very helpful, her care for our well being exceptional. Could not have wished for a better tour leader.
Participant 2017
Brilliant trip with an excellent guide and driver. Even converted my sports -orientated husband into appreciating cathedrals and architecture! Love the 'all-inclusive' aspect, not having to bother with meals, tipping, etc. Made it a real holiday for me.
Participant Sep 2014
Travelling in a small group was great. The tour gave you a good taste of France's history and its wine regions.
Participant Sep 2014
This tour was such a good mix of the different areas of France, good food, good wine, good company and amazing sights.
Participant Sep 2014
La Belle France is a delightful tour through some of the most beautiful regions of France. Rouna ensured that everything ran smoothly and that we saw so much.
Participant Sep 2015
I was impressed by the number of places we visited. It was a very full itinerary which I like. We saw things of interest every day. I see no fault with the tour.
Participant 2017
It was a marvellous tour. I was privileged, as we all were, to see so many things of beauty, and so much history, in your very capable hands. Thank you for passing on some of your knowledge, and for your ready assistance. Thank you also for the photos and the list of guides; I'd been trying to remember the name of that rather good, but unusual fellow we met in Siena. No doubt because of his enthusiasm - and eccentricity - I remember Siena so well. (BH - Heritage Italy)
Participant Sep -15
Thank you so much for being a wonderful leader for the Heritage Italy tour. It was so interesting and has left me with lots of things to think about and follow up in my reading. I found I had an old book giving the history of Greek science, i.e. the thinking of the Greeks in the early BC time. An interesting addition to our visit to Paestum and Cumae. The whole experience was marvellous and I have to thank you again for your kindness and consideration and the generous amount of time you gave to us all. I really appreciated that. (MB - Heritage Italy)
Participant Sep -15
Apart from just touching base and saying hi, I wanted to thank you for such a wonderful trip. Fourth time in Italy for me but the chance to get a little off the beaten track was really special... not to mention I got so much more insight into Italy than I had before. (KG Heritage Italy)
Participant Sep -15
THE TRIP WAS FANTASTIC.
BARRIE ASHTON
The Victoria Falls were an outstanding treat.
Participant -16
Exceeded Expectations
Participant -16
The drumming experience and the cultural food at the Gold restaurant in Cape Town was fantastic
Participant -17
All the guides were good, but I thought Daryl in Pretoria and Johannesburg was excellent. His knowledge of South African history and his passion for his country was impressive. He took us to see places that were important in that history. He does tend to talk too much and run out of time, but he was always worth listening to.
Participant -17
Without exception the hotels were of high standard. They were comfortable and clean and had plenty of hot water. Any problem that I had, such as not having the right electrical adapter, was solved quickly and pleasantly.
Participant -17

Subscribe to our newsletter and save!

Join our newsletter mailing list to gain exclusive access to special offers and promotions.